what board to get?

A Forum For New Racers.

Moderator: Karl Floitgraf

rick lewis

what board to get?

Post by rick lewis » Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:58 am

Hello I have several different types of boards. I am now ready to add a slalom board. There are so many killer boards out there and so little time and money..
I have narrowed it down between roe PS, subsonic lowland 32, skaterbuilt cone killer and maybe something from pocket pistols.. What should i consider when getting a bored.. I am just a novice. I am 6'2" and around 218lbs. I believe performance is better the aesthetics but i love both. I even thought about a tunnel or Bahne board..

Anyone, care to give some suggestions or information I would greatly appreciate it.

Cheers,

Keep on rolling

Marty Agather

Post by Marty Agather » Sat Sep 23, 2006 6:32 pm

Rick,

I'm new to slalom as well, having taken a detour many years ago after a number of years skating. At this point, I've been running cones for about 2 months give or take. I've recently purchased 4 boards, but due to budget constraints I'm using some antique trucks and wheels on a couple. The ultimately recoverable mistake that I have made is that I ended up with a couple single purpose boards, when I would have been better served with something a bit more universal.

My suggestion would be to talk with any skating buddies to see what types of courses they are skating in practice and fun gatherings, and lean towards a board that will fit that type of skating. If all they run are 6' courses, then pick up a TS board. BUT if they are running GS type courses, that board is going to be less applicable, and you are going to want something with a longer wb. If they run a combo, then you need to think about something that is more versatile, and has a couple of wheelbases drilled. Then you can switch up with the turn of a screw driver.