Nashville?

Slalom Skateboarding in the Southeastern U.S.A

Moderators: Jonathan Harms, Ron Barbagallo, Lynn Kramer, Maria Carrasco, Russel Cantor

Tim Shawl

Post by Tim Shawl » Fri Sep 19, 2003 10:56 pm

Anybody out there from the mid-Tennessee region? I'm a newbie to slalom and would like to catch some races first hand. Thanks -

Wesley Tucker
1961-2013 (RIP)
1961-2013 (RIP)

Post by Wesley Tucker » Fri Sep 19, 2003 11:24 pm

Tim,

You're about 300 miles from anywhere :smile:

There's pretty good scenes going down in St. Louis, Jackson MS and Atlanta/Athens. Although you do benefit from being in a large metro area, you're in the same boat as me being in Charleston, SC: racing is going on, just not right around here.

Get out, ride your board, run some cones, talk to EVERYONE who shows the slightest bit of interest. Memorize all the good websites and send people to check it out. That's about the best way going to find other racers: expose as many people as possible to how much fun it is to slalom.

Let us know how it develops. And we'll see you soon at the next southern hoe down. Probably the next event within a decent distance from you is the West Virginia Slalom Skate October 19. It's about 450 miles from you and is a SUNDAY event. Hope you can make it.

Rick Stanziale
Red Clay Racing
Red Clay Racing

Post by Rick Stanziale » Fri Sep 19, 2003 11:36 pm

I'm stoked to see someone from Nashville posting - welcome aboard, Tim!

Wes speaks the truth, you have to plant seeds and grow your own scene. But one of the best things about grass roots slalom racing is traveling to places you otherwise never would. It was the same way with the backyard vert ramp scene in the 80's - we traveled to Charleston (Blaise Blouin's ramp), Fort Lauderdale (Cambodia), Jacksonville (Kona) and Virginia Beach (Trashmore). Never made it to Tennessee though I know some great skaters came out of there (Batmite comes to mind).